Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, March 30

Maintaining a balance among officers of the UT and states, UT Administrator Kaptan Singh Solanki today assigned the charge of various departments.

Sources said while making reshuffle, Parimal Rai, Adviser to the Administrator, focused on some areas such as health, education and transport that have been given to the senior and experienced officers.

The Excise and Taxation Department and the Labour Department have returned to Ajit Balaji Joshi, Deputy Commissioner, while Amit Talwar, PCS, will be Additional Deputy Commissioner and Land Acquisition Officer. He will also hold the charges of Additional Secretary, Urban Planning, Divisional Manager, CTU, and Director Transport-cum-(ex-officio) Additional Secretary Transport, Registering and Licensing Authority.

Parimal Rai, Adviser to the Administrator, will also hold the charge of Chief Vigilance Officer.

KK Jindal, who joined recently, has been given the charges of Secretary Personnel/Vigilance, Labour, Employment, Hospitality, Industries, Technical Education and Secretary Transport.

Jitender Yadav has been given the charges of Director Higher Education and Secretary, House Allotment Committee (Lower).

Prince Dhawan has been retained and will hold his earlier departments. Kriti Garg, SDM South, will also hold the charge of Joint Chief Electoral Officer and Director, Museum and Art Gallery.

The charge of SDM East has been assigned to Bhupesh Chaudhary in addition to his own duties.

Some more departments such as Public Relations, Environment Science and Technology have been added to the Home Secretary, which increase his departments' number to 17, while the number of the Finance Secretary departments has remained 11.